Ooops. The name of my post high school crew was: “The Posse that cannot be stopped”

Early A.M. sort of speeding westbound on rt 30, to put finishing touches on yesterday’s floor pour. “Can you finish concrete the next day?” = a good question I will answer over a beer you buy me someday.

A Bob Dylan song is randomly playing through my Ipod that I am sort of unfamiliar with. It’s not a hit, and the live audience isn’t making a lot of noise. I don’t know what he’s talking about, but I like the way he’s saying it. Then, he sighs into the harmonica, followed by a slur of notes that sounds like he is trying to catch his breath through the little square wooden holes.

When my son Oliver was 3, he had a harmonica that he played all the time. I used to love to play Bob Dylan songs, and just let him jam freestyle harmonica over top of the songs; even over Bob’s most sacred lyrics. Something about the sound was magical and hilarious.

The Bob Dylan song I am currently (was) listening to is now over, and the crowd erupts into cheer. This is the live Bob Dylan album where his first set is acoustic, and the second set was electrified with a full band. I don’t know the full story, but I guess some of the crowd sort of ‘turned’ on him in the second set, because he let go of his acoustic roots and ‘sold out’ (JUDAS!!!) to the sounds of electric. Hmmm. The story goes something like that…anyhow, the crowd slightly bugs me, because I know that some of them end up being assholes.

Now I’m creeping into the development of where I need to finish the concrete. The sun is barely up, and I bet no one else is either. The Pixie’s “Where is my Mind?” just came onto my stereo, and the stereo automatically goes to full volume.

“Where is my mind?…waaaaay out in the water…see it swimming?”

Full volume.

I pass two ladies walking their dogs. One dog is tiny, and the other a severely over-fed lab with knee problems. I smile at them, they look at me in fear.

The job sight is here now. I back my truck in…the sun is up. Ok, let’s get this Sunday started.

“With your feet in the air and your head on the ground-try this trick and spin it”

 

~ by midlife concrete on November 20, 2011.

Leave a comment