Huggz!

I’m telling you: this Landisville Turkey Hill is a soap-opera waiting to happen. And…the day I see Leon running around the lot; answering questions and telling clever stories….well, I don’t know what I’m going to do…probably pass out

The register kid and coffee cream clerks publicly display friendship with weak high fives and comfort huggz.

“Steve!….you look so sad today….:9(“

“Oh…I am….:9(”

“Huggz!”

“Thx!”

And then they embrace lightly in a well-mannered friendship hugg for all to see.

None of us are too kind to comment, so we wait patiently for correct change after their comfort spell.

It was weird, but nice work etiquette that: I can honestly say…this behavior would not translate well into the concrete construction world.

Here:

“AAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! FUCKING A!!!!”

“what’s wrong, Don?”

“THE HANDLE JUST SNAPPED OFF THAT FUCKING DUMBASS BARROW, AND OOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUUUUUCHHHH! I SLIPPED WHEN, THEN THE DAMN THING (COUGH, COUGH, COUGH) FRICKING BUSTED MY DAMN ELBOW OFF THE (COUGH, COUGH)”

“Huggz?”

 

 

See? It just wouldn’t work.

No huggz. I’d just have to tell him to ‘quit being a pussy’ and ‘hurry up; the next truckload of concrete is on the way’.

Something similar to this mentioned fake story happened in real life last month.

Funny story:

I was managing a rather large custom driveway job.  I had a young laborer compacting the sub-grade with a plate-tamper. Yes, the type that looks like a lawn mower with no blades or wheels. -Just a big, vibrating metal plate on the bottom….yes, one of those! You are learning!

Anyhow, this kid (his name is Donovan Herr, and he’s a real ‘shit-head-meets-sweet-heart) tried dragging this machine up a bank by himself and…the pendulum style steel handle cracked him right on the nose. (funny story!)

I was going to offer him “Huggz!”, but he was bleeding profusely, and I was wearing one of my favorite shirts. No deal.

There was blood everywhere, and he was doing the impression of someone who was in great pain. I could not see his pain. I saw that he stopped working, and this was killing my production value. (!)

Me: “well…you’ve made quite a mess here.”

Donovan: ” (moaning)…holy shit dude…OMG….holy shit”

Me: “did you finish tamping the area right over there where the driveway will meet the existing walkway? because that is one spot that…”

-He cuts me off

Donovan: “I BROKE MY NOSE YOU FUCKING ASSHOLE!!!!”

I didn’t really care for his tone, and he was sporting more than the usual amount of attitude….but…I could see that there was something very important that he was trying to tell me.

After some more, very uncomfortable dialogue, he convinced me to take him to the emergency room for treatment, and I promised a ride there; as long as he didn’t get any blood in or on my truck….deal.

Huggz?

No.

~ by midlife concrete on November 16, 2011.

Leave a comment